October 25, 2001

  • has anyone seen the trailer for Monsters, Inc on tv? if not, try to catch it! i really admire the way the dialogue writers have managed to incorporate some very clever jokes in a highly innocuous way. maybe i am reading too much into the line, but given the witty humor pixar has dealt out in the past, i don’t think i am pushing it.


    what am i talking about? well, here’s the quote taken directly from the TV trailer (which is sort of marketing genius on its own):


    Yeah – blame it all on the little guy, with the one eye!”
    - Mike Kazowski, the !one-eyed green! monster from Monsters, Inc -


    hmmm. i don’t think the little kiddies will understand this line so it should still be rated G. i can’t wait for it to hit the theatres as i want to see how many loaded jokes like these are buried in the movie. no – my mind is not in the sewer, how i have come to this particular interpretation of this line is the un?/fortunate result of having (too) many guy friends. i love the hidden references of jokes like these. that’s why i also really cartoons like the Simpsons for their vitrolic humor. as a last note, i bet that this character was deliberately chosen to be green too, even if he is not the only one-eyed monster in the show, he is one of the stars, so it makes that even more significant!


    ok, i should stop now….i think i am starting to overanalyse the layers in this film. i can’t wait for it to come out because Pixar has never failed to disappoint!

Comments (10)

  • Too many guy friends?

  • heh…in proportion to the number of girlfriends. actually, it depends on where I am. girlfriends are all back home. here, it’s mainly the guys – we are all good buddies!

  • I will keep an eye out, I’ve not heard of it, but England is always two or three months behind when it comes to film or t.v. releases!

  • I’ve seen the trailer… it looks quite interesting.
    We’ll see. 

  • Yup that movie looks cool. I also liked the sense of humor present in Toy Story 2, very funny.. kids too probably didn’t understand a lot of the humor in that either.  -navdeep

  • I guess I don’t have enough “guy friends”… Now I feel stupid   I thought he was just a little green monster with one eye.

  • i’m just happy they got john goodman, he’s got such a great cartoon voice :)

  • TOO MANY guy friends?

    really?

    I think the film WILL be good!

  • Everywhere has geological faults but some a bigger and more active than others. I think Britain has two significant (ish) earthquakes a year, and 300 minor tremors. Most the people I know never even felt the one on Sunday, including my dad and brother!

  • I want to see that movie sooooo bad! I think it’ll be better than some of the trash I’ve become addicted to (soul survivors and Jeepers Creepers were the last 2 movies I watched…..)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories