December 11, 2001

  • Painted Dreams



    I wonder sometimes how much art reveals
    about a person, whether it is a piece that
    they have created or a something they like.
    In the realm of painting, I like the pre-
    Raphaelites, Gustav  Klimt and Modigliani.
    Their images, regardless of minimalist or
    graphic style, convey a lush sensuality and
    richness of their life experiences. The content
    isn’t what matters, but the way it expressed,
    as if they take a little of the magic in life and
    transmute it in color and form that is tangible.
    This is not to say that I don’t like other sorts
    of art – I ecstatically admire the genius of Dali,
    Picasso, Hong Zhu An, Shi Dawei and the like,
    but the works of the aforementioned artists 
    resonate within me. I wonder what that says
    about me.



         I believe art is comfort for the soul,
         whether you are the creator or the
         recipient. It has to convey beauty to
         someone, somewhere, whether that
         beauty appeals intellectually or
         physically.

Comments (7)

  • That must be my problem – I need more ART!

  • Art is/causes a resonance inside our psyche because it is a talisman of our common humanity.  Cheers!

  • …art gives so much and asks so little. One who doesn’t appreciate art misses one of life’s blessings.
    Wishing you the blessings of Christmas. MuSe

  • I think sometimes a person can put more interpretation into a painting than the artist ever intended! I’m not saying that is a bad thing.

    Move from art to music for an example. Sting has some beautiful songs, and I used to think he was perhaps a deep, spiritual person until I saw an advert with him in… “What do rock stars dream of?” was the caption has his music played. It then cut to a shot of Sting in the back of a very expensive car, and basically he just sold himself out to sell a car!

    Wishing you a great Christmas!!

  • Hi Gabrielle,

    I hope I didn’t tread on any toes describing my superficial glance of N.Y. as I did. As a tourist, I saw N.Y. as a tourist. Llike everywhere, I’ve no doubt N.Y. has many quaint places to retreat, filled with interesting people; even in my brief visit I caught glimpses of it now and again, but those moments are far removed from the commercial side that pervades each block.

    Gavin.

  • On the subject of art; I agree and like your words – in New York there was lots of great art to be found. I loved the Metropolitan Museum of Art, but when I was confronted with the Urban postmodern work in the Whitney Museum of Art (have you ever been here?), I was appalled! I could not draw an ounce of satisfaction from a single piece of work!

  • Ooh, I love Gustav Klimt.  (I noticed his piece above.) 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories