Month: December 2001

  • Painted Dreams



    I wonder sometimes how much art reveals
    about a person, whether it is a piece that
    they have created or a something they like.
    In the realm of painting, I like the pre-
    Raphaelites, Gustav  Klimt and Modigliani.
    Their images, regardless of minimalist or
    graphic style, convey a lush sensuality and
    richness of their life experiences. The content
    isn’t what matters, but the way it expressed,
    as if they take a little of the magic in life and
    transmute it in color and form that is tangible.
    This is not to say that I don’t like other sorts
    of art – I ecstatically admire the genius of Dali,
    Picasso, Hong Zhu An, Shi Dawei and the like,
    but the works of the aforementioned artists 
    resonate within me. I wonder what that says
    about me.



         I believe art is comfort for the soul,
         whether you are the creator or the
         recipient. It has to convey beauty to
         someone, somewhere, whether that
         beauty appeals intellectually or
         physically.