Month: June 2001

  • okie. so i am guilty of not blogging in long long while. i have reasons!!! but not excuses. i was moving house – still don’t have my internet connection up…plus, i am now working so that means i have an 8:30-5:30 job that takes up most of my time and i have yet to finish unpacking….gah


    i am hopelessly out of touch with the xanga community and i hope to catch up with people’s blogs soon. apologies for not being around…….

  • whoo hoo….i just read this and this in a newspaper that reiterates something that john blogged about some time ago. ignoring the way the article is written, it looks like information warfare is something to really be wary of as internet usage spreads. it’s the way of things as we create new tools that mutate into frankensteins. i want to write a better blog on this, but this will depend on the time i have…i start work monday!


    i have yet to verify the Lindt case cited in the above article, or how widespread and pervasive information warfare is, but it is a confirmed reality. i forgot about this case and the details, but what was that case where this 15 year old boy used spam to artificially inflate the stock prices of small firms then sold them at a profit? although this example is the opposite of badmouthing, it illustrates the potential of the internet in influencing businesses.


    such cases confirm that services provided by firms such as Moreover (see john’s blog) for damage control have great potential to create a lucrative market. as to whether it will become the Next Big Thing remains to be seen, but hey, reality bites and i agree with the article on info warfare that so long as there are no rules to govern the way businesses conduct themselves, executives will have to get down and dirty too to avoid being caught off guard.


    p.s. anybody willing to buy stocks (if they have them) in Moreover?

  • heh…this is a bimbotic blog, about the wonders of shopping


    my mom is always glad to see me home and i am treated like a little princess when i get back. part of our mother and daughter ritual is shopping, coz she likes dressing me up like a doll or trying to mould me in her image despite the fact that i look really different from her when she was my age.


    but i have to admit that i like the shopping. i manage to find lots of nice things which i then con  my parents into buying provided that i think i really like it and it is a reasonable price. just a few days ago, i (or rather, my mom) bought the perfect fire engine red dress that i have been looking for for a while now. i didn’t know what kind of dress it was that i wanted until i saw that dress, but i knew that it shouldn’t be frilly or be in the style of the dress from the movie, Lady in Red. frills and me gahhhhh! no lace and no satin. no spaghetti straps and no sequins. i’m not Ms. Monroe. i saw it hanging on the rack and died from shock at the price so i moved on, but it caught my mom’s eye and she told me to go try it on.


    I should have wondered right from the very start why she was so eager to pay that kind of money for me to wear that dress…..


    it turns out that she had a dress that was almost exactly like it, back in the good ol’ days when my dad was courting her, except that her’s had a halter-neck….i wanted to illustrate it here, but my computer here is ancient and dying and can’t support many more programs and i can’t do it in paintbrush…(i lack the computer skills…). it’s a sleeveless number that starts at my neck and falls to somewhere just below my knees where it flares very slightly and subtly. it is belted at the hips and falls straight from shoulder to hips but is slightly loose so that it limns my body loosely so that i don’t look shapeless.


    i wore the dress today, with the argh %$(#*$@*& result (which was unconsiously expected) of her telling all the friends that we met the story behind the dress. argh argh argh


    hmph. mothers! but i love my mother all the same :-)

  • I am back…flattened on the first day home by a flu, which then developed into a nasty cold….gah…now on the road to becoming almost well!


    While i was knocked flat on my back recuperating from it all, i noticed how my flu was changing imperceptibly slowly into a cold using the Chinese perspective of Yin and Yang. or to put it in my own colloquial way, heatiness and coolness. I have tried to explain it to many westerners exactly what i mean because when they fall ill with the flu, i try to “advise” them what kinds of foods help or hinder recovery. For example, my flu was HEATY. That meant that my body was dehydrated, my throat felt hot and sore and my tonsils were bloated…also, i had a fever (sure sign of heatiness) for the first few days.


    So therefore, having grown up with chinese style medicine (in tandem with western medicine as well), i decided to help my recovery by taking “cooling” foods and drinks. When i talk about cooling and heaty stuff, it by no means refers to temperature. Ice cream for example, is slightly heaty. So I started eating lots of chinese pears, drinking a drink derived from Lohan fruit, lots of coconut water and chrysanthemum tea as they were COOOOOLing and avoiding deep fried foods and chocolate as they were terribly heaty!


    unfortunately, i overdosed. sigh


    so now, i am stuck with clogged lungs, and a terrible cough that comes from an excess of Yin or coolness……..


    gahhh.


    so now that i am up and about, back to my normal blogging. will go visiting other blogs soon – see you all :-)